Welfare centres and Local Squares

Welfare centres and Local Squares are low-threshold service points

All around Tampere, there are many welfare centres and Local Squares where you can find services, attend events, and receive counselling and guidance with everyday issues.

The welfare centres and Local Squares offer venues for different group gatherings, encounters, and experiments. In the city centre, you will also find the service and information point Kotitori, where you can get help in finding the right services for your situation.

The welfare centres and Local Squares offer an abundance of counselling, guidance and services related to well-being, health, and different life situations, often quite conveniently under one roof. In most of the welfare centres you can find, for example, social welfare and health care services, a library, and a youth centre.

People of all ages are welcome to the welfare centres and Local Squares.

The appearance and services of the welfare centres and Local Squares reflect their surroundings, and their development is a joint effort: The goal is to provide the locals with high quality services and smooth everyday encounters, create comfortable and efficiently used spaces, and enhance the sense of community.

Welfare centres

The welfare centres in Tampere are

  • Hervanta Trio Welfare Centre (Insinöörinkatu 8)
  • Koilliskeskus Welfare Centre (Liikekatu 3)
  • Lielahti Welfare Centre (Antti Possin kuja 1)
  • Tesoma Welfare Centre and (Tesomankatu 4)
  • Tipotie Welfare Centre (Tipotie 4)

In addition, the Me-talo community centre (Multisillankatu 1) operates in the southern parts of the city to advance the development of the welfare centre to be built in the area.

Local Squares

There are 15 Local Squares around the City of Tampere. Some of the Local Squares are part of the city services, whereas others are operated by contracting partners of the city.

Local Squares operated by the City of Tampere:

  • Kaukajärvi Local Square (Keskisenkatu 13-15)
  • Lielahti Local Square (Antti Possin kuja 1)
  • Nekala Local Square (Kuoppamäentie 24)
  • Pappilanpuisto Local Square (Kourutaltankatu 2)
  • Pispa Local Square (Kourutaltankatu 2)
  • Pohjola Local Square and (Pohjolankatu 25 F)
  • Vuores Local Square (Pohjolankatu 25 F)

Local Squares operated by partners: Kaukaharju Centre, Keinupuisto Local Square, Kuusela Local Square, Kyttälä Local Square, Peurankallio Local Square, Tammela Local Square, Taatala Local Square and Viola Local Square.