Information on Tampere 

Key figures of Tampere


Inhabitants in Tampere (2023)

7,60 %

The tax rate in the City of Tampere


Tampere is the third largest city in Finland with 255,050 inhabitants (31.12.2023). Population density is 485,8 persons/km2 (31.12.2023).

Tampere is particularly attractive to students, with the largest age group in Tampere being 20-29 year olds (about 50,000 inhabitants). There are about 138,000 people aged under 40 and about 50,000 over 65. The average age of Tampere residents is 41 years (31.12.2023). The proportion of children under 10 has decreased in recent years, and more than half of the household-dwelling units consist of one person. 

At least 160 different languages are already spoken in Tampere, of which in addition to the domestic languages the nine most common are Arabic, English, Spanish, Farsi, Chinese, Kurdish, Somali, Russian and Estonian.

The residents of Tampere are well-educated people: Of all the residents over the age of 15, about four out of five have completed degrees beyond basic education (year 2022). 

Tax rate and decision-makers

The tax rate in the City of Tampere in 2024 is 7,60 %.

The City Council consists of 67 members. The Chair of the City Council is Ilmari Nurminen. The Mayor of the City of Tampere is Kalervo Kummola.

There are three Deputy Mayors: Ilkka Sasi (National Coalition Party), Deputy Mayor of the Growth, Innovation and Competitiveness Services committees; Matti Helimo (Greens), Deputy Mayor of the Education and Upbringing Committee and Culture and Leisure Committee; Pekka Salmi (SDP), Deputy Mayor of the Urban Environment and Infrastructure Services committees.


The surface area of the city is 689.6 square kilometres, of which water areas cover 164.6 square kilometres. 

The city is located on a stretch of land between two lakes. Lake Näsijärvi on the northern side of the city is located 95 metres and Lake Pyhäjärvi in the south 77 metres above the sea level. The difference between the surface levels of the two lakes is 18 metres. The lakes are connected by the Tammerkoski rapids, which flows through the city from Lake Näsijärvi to Lake Pyhäjärvi.
Tampere has great transport connections. The distance by road is 176 kilometres to Helsinki, 75 kilometres to Hämeenlinna, and 157 kilometres to Turku. 

The City of Tampere has seven neighbouring towns: Ylöjärvi, Nokia, Pirkkala, Lempäälä, Kangasala, Orivesi and Ruovesi. 

Tampere - this is home

Symbol species

In 1997, three symbol species were selected for the City of Tampere: the White Wagtail (Motacilla alba) represents birds, the False Heath Fritillary (Melitaea diamina) animals, and the Great-spurred Violet (Viola selkirkii) plants.

Lähikuva tummaverkkoperhosesta.

Main photo of the page: Laura Vanzo / Visit Tampere