Hämeenpuisto Park

The western side of Tampere city centre is divided in two by Hämeenpuisto Park, which was built in the early 20th century as the northern Näsinpuisto Park and the southern Eteläpuisto Park. Together, these parks form a single green area that runs from Näsijärvi to Pyhäjärvi.

Location on map

Hämeenpuisto Park has a length of 1290 metres, a width of 60 metres and an area of 8 hectares. There are approximately 400 trees, most of which are lindens, common limes and maples. Hämeenpuisto Park is almost entirely a green street area, with the lanes of Hämeenpuisto St running along both sides of it. In the middle of the green lanes, there is a pedestrian and bicycle path which is approximately 8–9 metres wide.

Several public sculptures and monuments are located in the Hämeenpuisto Park and its immediate vicinity. In 1921, Viktor Jansson's Freedom Statue was unveiled at the Church of Alexander.

Minna Canth was honoured in 1951 with a monument made by Lauri Leppänen and erected between Satakunnankatu and Puuvillatehtaankatu, and in 1981 a sculpture called ‘News’ was unveiled between Kauppakatu and Satakunnankatu, opposite the main library Metso.

In 1950, Wäinö Aaltonen's monument to the cooperative system was set up in Eteläpuisto Park, and right opposite Hämeenpuisto Park in Näsinpuisto Park can be found Emil Wickström’s Näsinkallio fountain, which was built in 1913. The funds for the fountain were donated by the merchant Nikolai Tirkkonen in 1909, following the 40th anniversary of his store.

Updated 19.10.2023