Skip to main content

City of Tampere -

Twin cities

Brasov, Romania

Chemnitz, Germany

Essen, Germany

Guangzhou, China

Kaunas, Lithuania

Kyiv, Ukraine

Klaksvík, Faroe Islands

Kópavogur, Iceland

Linz, Austria

Łódź. Poland

Miskolc, Hungary

Norrköping, Sweden

Odense, Denmark

Olomouc, Czech Republic

Syracuse, United States

Tartu, Estonia

Trondheim, Norway

Friendship cities

In addition to the aforementioned twin cities, the city of Tampere has also two so called friendship cities. The friendship city activity begun in 1988 based on development co-operation.

León, Nicaragua

León is the second largest city in Nicaragua with ca. 175 000 inhabitants. It's also the educational capital of the country.

Mwanza, Tanzania

The port city of Mwanza is located on the southern coast of lake Victoria. With a population of ca. 800 000, Mwanza is the second biggest city of Tanzania and it is the capital of the Mwanza Region.